Selection from a therapy session

A: Talk about it then.

B: I don’t know. I talk at the universe and it just sits there.

A: And?

B: It’s indifferent to my theories about it. It would be one thing if it, I dunno, lit up or changed color gave off some detectable sign when my theory was right or wrong. But the whole thing is a conversation with a workman lost in thought who doesn’t speak my language.

A: Why that metaphor? Why not a conversation with a statue?

B: Because I’m amazed by the universe. Look at what it takes to make a Swiss watch. Any cell in my body is infinitely more intricate and complex than that.

B: Paley?

A: I’m not making Paley’s argument or anything like that. There’s too much of a gap between the watch and a cell to know what is on the far side of the chasm. As far as I know intelligence makes only the dead. Who knows what it takes to make the living?

A: Evolution or selection is a possibility?

B: Not really. Given some amazing thing, it might survive in its environment. It’s the amazing thing that never talks to me. I want to get inside its head and it just keeps working. I can’t even know what it thinks about my basic ideas: causality, contradiction, design from mind, whatever. What difference can it make if I call it “God” or “blind necessity” or even “what can’t be known”?

2 Comments

  1. December 12, 2015 at 9:23 pm

    A therapist who knows from Paley.

    Though I doubt these are actually minutes from a session, it happens I’ve often thought of therapists as Plato’s Sophist – ideally the last, of course.

  2. Curio said,

    December 13, 2015 at 11:33 am

    If this is a real therapy session you are a very lucky man. Most therapists I’ve worked with have no training in philosophy.


Leave a Reply

