The Feast of the Assumption and the Blessings of Marriage

In a few short days Catholics around the world will be celebrating the Feast of the Assumption – the day that honors our Blessed Mother being assumed, body and soul into heaven so that she could be crowned the Queen of heaven. It has long been one of my favorite feasts and I have loved OLA for as long as I can remember. My grandmother died on August 19th, 1995 and I remember taking great comfort praying to Our Lady on this feast day, asking her to accompany my grandmother on the final leg of her journey, and then feeling her presence with my grandmother on her final day. So ten years ago, when my husband proposed to me, I knew I wanted to be married on this feast day.  A few (not-so) short months later we were married! It was a Monday, which turns out is quite a lot cheaper for most wedding expenses! We were married at the Mission San Buenaventura in Ventura, California; our parish priest drove up to say the wedding and friends of my husband provided the music for the Mass – we had violins as well as acapella songs: they sounded like heaven. Our reception was at a friend’s-mother’s beach house (she told me that when James and I got married we could have our reception at her house if we wanted, even before we were engaged).  My friends catered the meal, my new cousin and brother-in-law grilled the meat for us (chicken and tri-tip!), and my mom made the wedding cake (there was a lot of chocolate involved).  A dear friend DJ’d the wedding from his iPod. It was beautiful and perfect and surrounded by love: True, sacrificial, life-affirming love.

So here’s to Our Lady of the Assumption and sacramental marriage!

10392084_124679892326_1338684_n 10392084_124679967326_5703730_n

1 Comment

  1. July 16, 2017 at 8:35 am

    During winter when airfares are cheap, plan to go to Ephesis (nearest town with hotels is Kusadasi) and visit the stone holy house of Mary on Nightingale Mountain, and its healing spring. Our Lady’s last house, built by St John, is beautifully set in the midst of a national forest, and is only reached by car or tour bus.

    The Shrine is in the custody of the Franciscans and is the only place in the area where you can hear Mass on Sundays.

    This rebuilt stone house was found miraculously in the 19th c. from descriptions given to Bl. Katherine Emmerich; and is thought by the last three Popes to be the real location of the Assumption: they have quietly withdrawn the plenary indulgence from the supposed site in Jerusalem, and placed it on this shrine; said Mass, and left gifts in gratitude.

    I think this too, from an ineffable interior certainty; validated (for me at least) by an unasked physical healing after drinking the cold, refreshing water from Mary’s spring.

    Why not plan now to visit this astonishing and lovely shrine for your 25th anniversary (or sooner)? You won’t regret it.


Leave a Reply

