Trivia

I’ve been reading and discussing STA for years now, and these are a set of claims that I know he says somewhere but which I just can’t find in the corpus. I’ve actually read #3 myself, and maybe even blogged on it, but the others are all things that I’ve heard from some authority who I absolutely trust, but which I’ve never been able to find a citation for.

So call this tenth-degree black-belt Thomism trivia. He who finds citations for all four will be a figure of world-historical insight:

Where does STA claim:

1.) All levels of being are contained in Christ.

2.) The actual cross on which Christ died can be worshiped with latria. 

3.) Both time and motion rely on memory to exist.

4,) The blessed hear audible music in patria. 

9 Comments

  1. Boethius said,

    March 11, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    Summa I q4 a2
    Respondeo dicendum quod in Deo sunt perfectiones omnium rerum.

  2. thenyssan said,

    March 12, 2015 at 5:53 am

    Super-excited to play this game…but I am 100% certain that any place I would think to look, you have already checked. Nevertheless, a great reading assignment.

  3. Peter said,

    March 12, 2015 at 7:46 am

    2: Super Sent., lib. 3 d. 9 q. 1 a. 2 qc. 4.

    • thenyssan said,

      March 12, 2015 at 8:31 am

      2 is also in the Summa—III q25 a4 resp.

      I think I’ve got 1 but it’s not explicit enough (III q3 a8 resp). The others are going to take some work. This is going to ruin my productivity for the day.

      • March 12, 2015 at 9:58 am

        (evil laugh)

        FWIW, 4 is the one I spent the most time looking for. Crickets so far.

      • thenyssan said,

        March 12, 2015 at 10:24 am

        Is it cheating to use his commentary on Colossians for 1? 1-4, on Col 1:15-17.

        I am dying with 4. I’m guessing scripture commentary but I don’t have time to hack through them.

    • March 12, 2015 at 9:58 am

      There it is!

  4. Peter said,

    March 12, 2015 at 10:18 am

    4 is interesting. The only thing I can think of relating to it is the pseudo-Thomas work De Arte Musica, where (if I recall correctly) it says towards the beginning that music is heard by the Church Triumphant. But that work doesn’t count.

  5. thenyssan said,

    March 15, 2015 at 9:06 am

    Revisiting a few days later. I haven’t spent much time looking since, but I wonder now: are you/we sure there are true citations for these? I mean, the audible music thing seems to be a reasonable conclusion from some things he does say about the role of the body in the resurrection. The levels of being in 1 comes out pretty easily by combining a few citations from Prima and Tertia, etc.

    (I don’t even have any ideas for finding 3 that doesn’t involve combining the 5th way with stuff from de anima).


Leave a Reply

