2/ 25 /10

If we didn’t do much of any physical science, or give incentives to those who practiced it, or hold up any great scientists as models for admiration, or even so much as envy its power, we’d see science as some strange alien value of another people, having no meaning to our lives. And wouldn’t it be? And isn’t it natural enough to see another’s values as subjective and not rigorously empirical? So what if it was not science we treated this way but moral action?

“Ah!”, we have been trained to say, “but regardless of what you think of  science your whole population will die out at a young age without it!” Very true. Remember that criterion.

3 Comments

  1. Peter said,

    February 25, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    There is a component of this in the endless debates over science vs. religion [Christianity]. Even if it is proved that scientific advancement was positively hindered by religious belief . . . so what? Maybe it is better to be preoccupied with that than with science. When was science shown to be an absolute good against which every other good is measured?

    Anyway, James, if you missed my skype message, Natural Hearing has begun.

  2. Niggardly Phil said,

    February 25, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Peter, where can I get those recordings in a downloadable format without having to register to a site? Is that possible?

    They’re simply fantastic, but I want to listen to them on my MP3 player.

  3. Peter said,

    February 25, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Hmmm. When I go in as an unregistered user, it allows me to download as MP3 through an “eSnips Downloader” (a Firefox Add-on?) that they make me download. That is, when I press the Download button below the audio-player (‘transport’) for a given audio file. Does it not behave that way for you?

    [I'm sorry about the ads. I hadn't realized how many ads that site has when I began. I use Firefox on this computer with all sorts of pop-up and ad-blockers, so I didn't know it had any; I didn't see them. But when I visited that site from another computer yesterday I found out what a mess it is. I recommend getting such Add-ons.]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

